Skip to main content

Trio Barclay: Bach & Rach

Sun. Oct. 1, 2023 at 5pm

Irvine Barclay Theatre Ensemble-in-Residence

Dennis Kim: violin
Jonah Kim: cello
Sean Kennard: piano

J.S. Bach: Allegro for Trio (from Harpsichord Concerto No. 1 in D Minor, BWV 1052)
S. Rachmaninoff: Vocalise, Op. 34, No. 14
S. Rachmaninoff: Allegro mosso (from Sonata for Cello & Piano Op. 19 in G Minor)
S. Rachmaninoff: Trio élégiaque No. 1 in G Minor
S.A. Seyfried: Piano Trio No. 2 (2023)

Ensemble-in-residence Trio Barclay returns to the stage with the timeless beauty and emotional power of music by J.S. Bach and Sergei Rachmaninoff. 

Allegro, the first movement from Bach's Harpsichord Concerto is a timeless gem in the classical repertoire.

Rachmaninoff’s deeply expressive Trio élégiaque No. 1 is a tribute to the composer's friend and mentor, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky. Composed while Rachmaninoff was still a student at the Moscow Conservatory, this evocative trio showcases Rachmaninoff's early mastery of melody and emotional depth.

Also on the program is Rachmaninoff’s Vocalise featuring the composer’s characteristic mixture of long, flowing melodies and poignant harmonies, and a world premiere by composer S.A. Seyfried. 

Watch & Listen