Skip to main content

Trio Barclay: Beethoven's "Ghost" Trio

Sun. March 24, 2024 at 5pm

Irvine Barclay Theatre Ensemble-in-Residence

Dennis Kim: violin
Jonah Kim: cello
Sean Kennard: piano


BEETHOVEN: Trio in D Major, Op. 70, No. 1, “Ghost”
JOHN WINEGLASS: World Premiere 

Trio Barclay concludes their three-concert series with what is considered one of Beethoven’s most remarkable works, his Piano Trio No. 1 in D major, also known as the "Ghost" trio.

The trio was first performed in 1808 in Vienna, with Beethoven himself playing the piano part. The second movement (Largo), which is the most famous and distinctive of the three, features a slow and mournful melody in the violin and cello, accompanied by an eerie ghost-like piano part. It is believed that around the time this piece was written, Beethoven was discussing an opera of Shakespeare's Macbeth (the words "Macbett" appear near sketches for the Largo) which features a ghost character.

Despite some initial mixed reviews, the piece gained popularity over time and is now considered one of Beethoven's most beloved chamber works. The Trio’s sweeping melodies unsettle us with dramatic, rich contrasts of mood — restless, transfixing, and exuberant.

Also on the program is a world premiere by John Wineglass.

Watch & Listen