Skip to main content

Laguna Beach Music Festival

Chromatic Fantasias

Laguna Beach Music Festival: Chromatic Fantasias

Sunday, May 16, 2021 at 3pm PDT
6pm EST

Presented by the Philharmonic Society of Orange County and Laguna Beach Live!

This concert is available to watch LIVE and IN-PERSON at Irvine Barclay Theatre. To purchase tickets to the in-person concert, click the "Buy In-Person Tickets" button below.

If you would like to purchase virtual access to the 3pm PDT livestream and 1 week of on-demand viewing, click on "Buy Virtual Tickets" below. (“On demand” viewing access will be available through May 23, 2021.)

Click HERE for information on how to watch the Virtual performance

Conrad Tao, piano | 2021 Artistic Director
JACK Quartet 
Stefan Jackiw, violin

Part of the 2021 Laguna Beach Music Festival
Presented by the Philharmonic Society of Orange County and Laguna Beach Live!

J.S. BACH: Chromatic Fantasia  
Elliott CARTER: Piano Quintet   
Conrad TAO: all I had forgotten or tried to 
BRAHMS: Violin Sonata No. 1 in G major, Op. 28 
Amy WILLIAMS: Cineshape 2   
J.S. BACH: Chromatic Fugue [orchestrated] 

Join piano-composer sensation Conrad Tao as he closes the 2021 Laguna Beach Music Festival with his youthful energy and innovative musical spirit.

Conrad Tao has emerged as a mature, thoughtful and thought-provoking pianist and composer with both an ambitious musical vision and the talent to realize it. He has earned numerous awards and distinctions for his performances, as well as his compositions, including a YoungArts gold medal in music and an Avery Fisher Career Grant. He has also been recognized as a Lincoln Center Emerging Artist, a Gilmore Young Artist, and a Presidential Scholar in the Arts by the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars.

As a composer, Tao has been commissioned to write works for orchestras around the world, including the New York Philharmonic, Hong Kong Philharmonic, and the Dallas Symphony Orchestra. His works also expand beyond the classical repertoire, exploring new mediums of expression, such as his original composition for the dance piece More Forever, which he and dancer Caleb Teicher premiered at the Guggenheim in 2019 to unanimous acclaim.

Hailed by The New York Times as “our leading new-music foursome,” the JACK Quartet is one of the most acclaimed, renowned, and respected groups performing today. JACK has maintained an unwavering commitment to their mission of performing and commissioning new works, giving voice to underheard composers, and cultivating an ever-greater sense of openness toward contemporary classical music. They have been selected as Musical America’s 2018 “Ensemble of the Year,” named to WQXR’s “19 for 19 Artists to Watch,” and awarded an Avery Fisher Career Grant.

Stefan Jackiw is one of America’s foremost violinists, captivating audiences with playing that combines poetry and purity with an impeccable technique. Hailed for playing of "uncommon musical substance" that is “striking for its intelligence and sensitivity” (Boston Globe), Jackiw has appeared as soloist with the Boston, Chicago, Cleveland, New York, Philadelphia, and San Francisco symphony orchestras, among others.

In-Person (Live) Experience: Tickets start at $38/each per concert
Livestream (Virtual) Experience: Tickets are $20/household per concert